A home for everything

Totally fitted kitchens are (at least at the moment) not really my thing, to my eyes they can be too finished or not in keeping with the rest of the house. I like a mix of old and new with open shelving to display the more attractive items and cupboards to hide away the not so attractive…much the same as my approach to every room.

With that in mind I have been looking for something to hang on the wall over the kitchen sink. I did think of a large vintage mirror but I looked and looked and couldn’t find one I liked.

Then I got a bit more practical and decided to go for shelves, mainly to allow the glasses to reside in a more convenient location. Eventually I found these old pine shelves (I suspect they were previously to top of a dresser) on eBay and the search was over.

k2

k5

I love eBay. Living in London it can be hard to find furniture that doesn’t break the bank. It all seems to have been bought elsewhere, popped in a London lifestyle store, styled a bit and the priced doubled. eBay means that you can buy pieces from all over the country and either pick it up yourself or use the website anyvan. It works really well, all you do is post your job with the main details (description, rough size etc) and the picking up and dropping off points plus a timeframe it needs to happen within. Then a range of courier companies will bid on your job, they’re often combining your job with another so for them it works quite well. I’ve used it a number of times and it’s always gone smoothly and been quite cost-effective. I’m sure there must be something similar in the US and Canada – if not consider that a free business idea!

k6

k7

glasss

k10

k12

k13

cups

sugar

9 thoughts on “A home for everything

  1. Totally agree with you about Ebay. Of the “big” furniture pieces I’ve bought only the sofa and dining chairs came from a store. Looking around the mirror, lamps, cabinet and fire place (£7!) all came from Ebay. Thanks for the courier tip though, which I didn’t know about.

  2. Oh dear, anyvan might be the start of some serious trouble here! I love the way your interior is evolving rather than being ‘done’ makeover-style. I’m sure this approach will age more gracefully too. Just out of interest, where are the base units from? They look great.

  3. Thanks for this helpful post. I also like to buy on eBay and it is the cheapest place to purchase anything! Many unusual items can be found on eBay.

  4. Delighted to find this blog. I live in a similar house (with similar challenges) over looking the sea in south county Dublin. Our tastes are similar but you have been more brave – the yellow doors are inspired. I’m spending a small fortune on F&B sample pots but think now it’s about time I just plunged in, inspired as I am by your choices.

    Helen

  5. pigeon works reaaly great with those darker creams. I love that metal rack, have been locking at it for ages, but was unsure if it could work in a more traditional setting, you have such a vital mix of curvy and strict lines.

Leave a comment